4 Million Unadopted Animals are Killed in Shelters Every Year

According to PETA, U.S. animal shelters must put to death nearly 4 million dogs and cats every year because of simple math: too many animals and not enough worthy adoptive homes.

This new pet-friendly video shows a family that learns the hard way that buying an animal from a breeder can add up to killing a homeless animal in an animal shelter.

I know people have different opinions about PETA… and I may be just a dog, but I do know that I was lucky enough to be rescued by Pet Orphans of Southern California and then adopted into a loving family – and I just wish the same for all homeless animals!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “4 Million Unadopted Animals are Killed in Shelters Every Year”

  1. Joan Mayer & her sidekick Poncho Says:

    Wow, Nellie..that is some post! As a former rescue pup myself, I agree that something has to be done about the over-population of us domestic animals..(kitties too ya know, not just us dogs…and uh oh, with Easter coming up that means bunny rabbits too)…

    I know PETA is sending a strong message… but coming from a “reward what you want” “focusing on the behaviors you want” “positive reinforcement” kinda household, I’d say that statement is pretty punishing… I know they’re trying to get their point across…but some people might tune them out with such a strong statement.

    How about getting the government to regulate breeding… I mean come on!!! How come every nutball around can knock up their dog and sell their children??? How is that legal? Especially with the economy in the litterbox it seems that’s a great way for some irresponsible people to make money – and not have to report it…which then leads to more unwanted pets, and people like our moms and dads taking care of other peoples irresponsible choices…but hey, thank goodness for that right?

  2. Emily Says:

    wow! thats so sad! i NEVER thought of it that way!
    Ive always been against breeding

    dont breed or buy while shelter pets die

    and this totally emphasizes it! I want everyone to see this! this needs to be a commercial world wide!!

Leave a comment